NCNS 44th Annual General Assembly

Truro, NS ─ September 25, 2018


The Native Council of Nova Scotia (NCNS), the Self-Governing Authority for Mi’kmaq/Aboriginal Peoples residing Off-Reserve in present day Nova Scotia throughout traditional Mi’kmaq Territory of Mi’kma’ki, held their 44th Annual General Assembly on September 15 and 16, 2018 at the Holiday Inn, Truro, Nova Scotia.

Chief Lorraine Augustine was pleased to welcome guests, including; Honoured Elders, Mi’kmaq Grand Keptins, guests, friends, Honourary members, and community members.  Chief Augustine also welcomed National Chief Robert Bertrand, of the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples (CAP), and Bill Casey, Member of Parliament, who addressed the NCNS’s Annual General Assembly Banquet.

Bill Casey, Member of Parliament, mentioned that the first time he was elected, 30 years ago he didn’t know much about the Indigenous Peoples and their issues.  He is willing to help work with us to help advance Indigenous Peoples to go forward to a better future.  Unfortunately, Mr. Casey will not be seeking re-election in the 2019 elections.

Honourary Elder, Kathy Sorbey, fundraised $518 for the Stephen Hamilton Award.

Diane Warner, was the recipient of the Stephen Hamilton Outstanding Achievement Award.  This award is given in recognition and honour, awarded to a worthy individual for their dedication and work in areas of Mi’kmaq education, language or culture that benefit Aboriginal People.  There was also Youth Leadership Awards given out during the AGA Banquet.  Kristen Caldwell and Hayley Sherman were the two recipients of the Youth Leadership Awards for their hard work and efforts.

The Micmac Benevolent Society held their Annual Auction at the NCNS’s 44th AGA.  They raised just over $2,100.

Pictured below is the drumming group “Iron Tide Singers” from Millbrook First Nation.

Below is Fancy Shawl Dancer, Taya Milliea, from Millbrook First Nation.

Pictured below, Honourary Elder, Kathy Sorbey (right) and Director of Education, April Hiltz, presenting the NCNS Stephen Hamilton Award to Diane Warner (left).

Pictured below is guest speaker, Bill Casey, Member of Parliament, delivering his speech at the NCNS, AGA banquet.

Pictured below, Chief Augustine (left), presenting Kendelle Blois (right), Netukulimkewe’l Commission, Receptionist, with an award to recognize her 10 years of services with the Native Council of Nova Scotia.

Pictured below, Youth Leadership Award recipients; Kristen Caldwell (left) and Hayley Sherman (centre), presented by April Hiltz, (right) NCNS Director of Education.

Satellite Offices

235 Charlotte Street, Unit 1
Sydney, N.S. B1P 1C4
Tel: 902-567-1240
Fax: 902-564-1123

180 White Point Road
PO Box 2028
Liverpool, N.S. B0T1K0
Tel: 902-354-2751
Fax: 902354-2757


140 Thorne Ave, Unit C
Dartmouth, N.S. B3B 1Z2
Tel: 902-405-4730
Fax: 902-405-4731

Digby Resource Center
1 Birch Street
Digby, N.S. B0V 1A0

Coldbrook Outreach
11 Opportunity Lane
Coldbrook, N.S. B4R 1B9

Head Office

129 Truro Heights Road,
P.O. Box 1320,
Truro, N.S.
B2N 5N2

Toll Free: 1-800-565-4372
Direct: 902-895-1523
Fax: 902-895-0024