Final Descheneaux Collaborative Process Session

(Truro) February 7, 2019 ─ The Native Council of Nova Scotia held their last and final Descheneaux Collaborative Process Session on Bill S.3 – Amendments to the Indian Act, this past weekend in Port Hawkesbury, NS on February 2, 2019.

To date, there have been sessions held in Bridgewater, Truro, Bedford, Yarmouth, Sydney, and Port Hawkesbury.  Each session consisted of a Panel of Experts to deliver the information on the Bill S.3 Amendments made to the Indian Act.  The panel included the Native Council of Nova Scotia’s (NCNS) Chief and President, NCNS Citizenship Officer, Maritime Aboriginal Peoples Council Director of Intergovernmental Affairs and two legal experts.

A final report will be available at the end of March 2019.  For more information contact Brooke Willis, Assistant to the NCNS Chief and President, at 1-800-565-4372.

Pictured below are some of the participants at the Deschenenaux Collaborative Process Session held on February 2, 2019 in Port Hawkesbury, NS.

Satellite Offices

235 Charlotte Street, Unit 1
Sydney, N.S. B1P 1C4
Tel: 902-567-1240
Fax: 902-564-1123

180 White Point Road
PO Box 2028
Liverpool, N.S. B0T1K0
Tel: 902-354-2751
Fax: 902354-2757


140 Thorne Ave, Unit C
Dartmouth, N.S. B3B 1Z2
Tel: 902-405-4730
Fax: 902-405-4731

Digby Resource Center
1 Birch Street
Digby, N.S. B0V 1A0

Coldbrook Outreach
11 Opportunity Lane
Coldbrook, N.S. B4R 1B9

Head Office

129 Truro Heights Road,
P.O. Box 1320,
Truro, N.S.
B2N 5N2

Toll Free: 1-800-565-4372
Direct: 902-895-1523
Fax: 902-895-0024